Statement calling on Iran to end economic oppression of Bahá'ís

In early November 2016, over one hundred and thirty-two Bahá'í-owned businesses in cities across Iran were sealed by Iranian authorities after they were temporarily closed to observe Bahá'í holy days.

The closing of Bahá'í-owned businesses is one of the many tactics employed by the authorities to undermine the Bahá'í community, the largest non-Muslim minority in Iran, as a viable entity. Other measures of the deliberate and government led economic apartheid against the Bahá'ís include categorically denying Bahá'ís access to governmental jobs, delaying or preventing them from acquiring private job licenses, pressuring companies to dismiss Bahá'í employees, forcing banks to block Bahá'í clients' accounts and depriving Bahá'ís from access to formal university education.

We call on the Iranian authorities to undertake an immediate review of their policies and to take immediate, visible, and substantive steps to remove the obstacles which prevent Bahá'ís from earning a living and contributing to the progress and prosperity of their country.

Co-signatories:

Lars ADAKTUSSON, Member of European Parliament

Lord ALTON, Member of House of Lords, United Kingdom

Maria ANDERSSON WILLNER, Member of Parliament, Sweden

Baroness BERRIDGE, Member of House of Lords, United Kingdom

Klaus BUCHNER,

Member of European Parliament

Rt. Hon. Alistair CARMICHAEL, Member of Parliament, United Kingdom

Therese COMODINI CACHIA, Member of European Parliament

Jean-Michel COUVE, Member of Parliament, France

Nic DAKIN, Member of Parliament, United Kingdom

Mark DURKAN, Member of Parliament, United Kingdom Asdin EL HABBASSI Member of Parliament,

Austria

Cornelia ERNST,

Member of European Parliament

Laurent FURST, Member of Parliament,

France

Michael GAHLER,

Member of European Parliament

Guy GEOFFROY, Member of Parliament,

France

Mary GLINDON, Member of Parliament, United Kingdom

Ana GOMES.

Member of European Parliament

Jytte GUTELAND,

Member of European Parliament

Marian HARKIN,

Member of European Parliament

Kelvin HOPKINS, Member of Parliament, United Kingdom

Lord HYLTON,

Member of House of Lords,

United Kingdom

Dennis de JONG,

Member of European Parliament

Tunne KELAM,

Member of European Parliament

Andrew LEWER,

Member of European Parliament

Viviane LOSCHETTER, Member of Parliament,

Luxembourg

Lionnel LUCA, Member of Parliament,

France

Omid NOURIPOUR, Member of Parliament,

Germany

Anders ÖSTERBERG, Member of Parliament.

Sweden

Charles TANNOCK,

Member of European Parliament

Harry VAN BOMMEL, Member of Parliament,

Netherlands

Julie WARD,

Member of European Parliament

Baroness WHITAKER, Member of House of Lords,

United Kingdom